Week 4 Summary

Week 4 Summary

Introduction

Hi, I am Vaibhav Malik, a Google Summer Of Code contributor and developer at Inkscape. In this blog, I've summarized the work that I did during the fourth week of the Google Summer Of Code 2022.

July 04

I merged Mikekov's development branch into my local branch for further additions. I added the collections list as a ListView widget. I also added a text entry widget to create or delete collections.
You can refer to this video to see this in action.

July 05

I discussed the collaborative approach with Mikekov. We discussed the features that we'll be adding in the coming days. Mikekov's work revolved around the font tags and font-filtering. And I was already working on collections.

July 06

Mikekov suggested continuing with my branch for some time. Because his code was not intended for production, it was only a UX experiment. There was a lot to be done. Then I switched back to the design suggested by Tav.

July 07

I worked on the font collections TreeView. Added the functions to create and delete and rename collections views.

July 08

Added the code to handle key-press events and button-press events.

July 09

Worked on the views and fixed some bugs.
You can watch this video to go through the changes.

July 10

Today, I introduced some major changes. I added the buttons to create, rename and delete the font collections. Bound the buttons with the corresponding handlers. I also added the function prototypes for the drag and drop feature on the font selector.
Video

Conclusion

During this week, I spent most of the time learning to use signals and events emitted by the widgets. In the coming week, I'll try to add more and more progress.