Week 10 Summary

Week 10 Summary

Introduction

Hi, I am Vaibhav Malik, a Google Summer Of Code contributor and developer at Inkscape. In this blog, I've described the work that I've done during the tenth week of the Google Summer Of Code 2022. I'm currently working on the font collections feature. You can go through the code that I've written by visiting this link

August 15

I continued the work at my local branch. I refactored a lot of code.

August 16

I asked the Inkscape developers to review my code. Thankfully, Mikekov shared his feedback on my work. He also suggested some backend code improvements in the code.

August 17

Today, I tried to fix the bugs indicated by Mikekov. I refactored the code once again. I also added documentation wherever it was missing.

August 18

I fixed the inconsistent font count label in the Text and Font and the Font Collections dialogue. I used the signal_changed signal to keep track of any changes in the font list. Then, I attached a function that keeps the label updated to this function. This way, the font count label got synchronized in both dialogues. I also fixed the Font names should not be editable issue. I also added checks to prevent the renaming of the system collections or their fonts.
New look of the dialogue after applying the fixes.

August 19

Added minor improvements and refactored the code.

August 20

Refactored more code.

August 21

I added several improvements to the "Font Collections Manager" dialogue.

Conclusion

Alright, this is it for week tenth of Google Summer of Code. This week was mostly about bug fixes, code reviews and code refactoring. Thanks for reading. Stay tuned for more updates.