Week 2 Summary

Week 2 Summary

Introduction


Hi, I am Vaibhav Malik, a Google Summer Of Code contributor and developer at Inkscape. In this blog, I summarized the work that I did during the second week of the Google Summer Of Code 2022.

June 20


Today I decided to conclude the addition and loading of font collections. During discussions with my mentor, we decided to store the collections in an XML file. This is because XML files are the best choices to store related data. Not only this, Inkscape's source code already contains all the necessities that are required to work with XML files.
Here's the link to the video that shows how it works.

June 21

The Text and Font dialogue doesn't feature a good UI. We were somewhat confused about the choice of the design. There had already been countless discussions on this matter. But the same thing happened again. It was not just the design, but there was confusion between the tags and collections. I, Jabiertxof, and Mikekov suggested going for either collections or tags. On the other hand, Tav's suggestion was to implement collections and tags as separate entities. I spent all the time to decide the correct idea and efficient approach.

June 22

The Code For Good hackathon(organized by JPMC) was approaching. I requested Tav to grant me a leave for 3-4 days and he agreed. He also told me that, during this time he'll ponder on the design of the dialogue.

June 23

Tav and I had another discussion on the new design of the dialogue. We concluded that we'll go for both the collections and the tags. We also decided to store the collections in the form of separate .txt files.

June 24

Today, I spent all my time preparing for the upcoming hackathon.

June 25

The hackathon began today, and I was busy working on our hackathon project.

June 26


Today was the last day of the JP Morgan Chase Code For Good hackathon. The events concluded at 16:00 Hrs(IST). By this time, I was exhausted because just slept for 3 hours the last night. I decided to get some sleep and get my batteries recharged. I woke up at 20:00 Hrs(IST). Now, I started to work on the new design of the Text and Font dialogue. I planned everything on pen and paper and started coding. Refactored some code in the collections class and added the "Open Font Manager" button in the Fonts tab.
You can go through the changes in this video

Conclusion

So that was it for this week. I understand that I did not spend a lot of time on my Google Summer of Code project, but I'll cover this loss in the coming weeks.