Week 7 Summary

Week 7 Summary

Introduction

I am Vaibhav Malik, a Google Summer Of Code contributor and developer at Inkscape. In this blog, I've summarized my work during the seventh week of the Google Summer Of Code 2023.

July 09 to July 10

I started working on the Page toolbar port. Its UI file was slightly different than other toolbars as it consists of Gtk::ComboBoxText, Gtk::Entry, Gtk::ListStore, etc. It took me a while to figure out how to proceed with the Page toolbar. After porting, there was a critical problem that the Page toolbar was not being realized correctly. I spent a few hours debugging the issue but couldn't make it work. Then I decided to move on to the remaining toolbars and handle this issue later.

July 11 to July 14

I ported the Booleans and the Zoom toolbar to GTK4. The zoom toolbar was easy to port. I encountered some difficulty while porting the actions of shape-add and shape-delete in the Booleans toolbar. Then I spent some time fixing the issue but couldn't succeed.

Conclusion

That's all I did during the seventh week of Google Summer of Code 2023. In the upcoming week, I'll try to fix the regressions and port more toolbars to GTK4. Stay tuned for further updates. Thanks for reading. Sayonara :)