Week 9 Summary

Week 9 Summary

Introduction

I am Vaibhav Malik, a Google Summer Of Code contributor and developer at Inkscape. In this blog, I've summarized my work during the ninth week of the Google Summer Of Code 2023.

July 24 to July 25

I ported the Mesh toolbar during the first two days of this week. It was a simple task, nothing complicated.

July 26

I refactored the code and checked for regressions.

July 27 to July 28

I was caught up in some university-related work and couldn't contribute. I decided to work during the weekend to make up for the lost time. Also, during these two days, Daniel Boles reviewed my Toolbars port merge request and gave valuable feedback. Most of the suggestions revolved around using references instead of pointers and using const whenever possible to make the code more robust. Some comments were related to the use of gchar * and pack_end in the toolbars.

July 29 to July 30

I spent the weekend working on the suggestions given by Daniel Boles. I changed the pointer types to reference types in the following toolbars:

  • Arc

  • Booleans

  • Box3d

  • Connector

  • Dropper

  • Eraser

I added the "toolbar" CSS class to all the ported toolbars. This class added a margin-top and margin-bottom of 4px to the toolbars.

Later, Daniel Boles gave a green flag to using pointer types as long as I used the const keyword wherever it can be used.

During all this refactoring, I also fixed the shape-add and shape-delete actions of the Booleans toolbar. Then, I worked on the toolbar resize mechanism and added checks to filter out some unnecessary calls.

Conclusion

That's all for the ninth week of Google Summer of Code 2023. Now, we're down to porting the last seven toolbars. The first thing I'll be working on in the upcoming week is the Spray toolbar. Stay tuned for further updates. Thanks for reading. See you next week :)